What I thought my life would be like vs how it’s turned out 

When I was younger, like school age. I always thought I would finish school, get a job, get married and then have children. That’s the way we’re taught from being young. But as we grow older, society is very different from our youthful views on life. 

I always inspired to work with children, a teacher or a nursery nurse. I did work experience in nurseries and schools but after 3 years of work experience I realised it wasn’t for me. I didn’t enjoy it. I was stuck in a rut so I did my A-Levels hoping that my perfect job would somehow come to me. After a year of A- Levels I decided that I wanted to go into hairdressing. I have no idea what made me change my mind from being a teacher to a hair stylist but it happened and I went into an apprentiship in hairdressing and qualified after 2 years. 

Having children and starting a family never really crossed my mind until I qualified and then I started thinking ‘when do I actually want children?’, ‘is Zach the one I want to marry and be with for the rest of my life?’. 

The pregnancy was a shock, and I didn’t find out I was pregnant until I was 9 weeks. I always thought I would have a stable job and be married to the love of my life so at the time I really wasn’t sure what to do. It was either work hard to become an established hairdresser and maybe start a business or have this baby that was in my womb growing inside of me. 

Not having the baby was not an option, I personally don’t agree with terminating a pregnancy unless absolutely necessary so I put my life on hold and to be honest it’s the best thing I ever did. Yes, we’ve been through a lot, me and alfie but he really is my little superhero. 

While pregnant, I worked as much as I could to earn money to give my baby the best start in life. I worked at the salon and in retail. After a while I left the salon as it just wasn’t for me anymore so I worked in retail part time until I went on maternity leave. 

Yeah, it wasn’t great but it’s the way it was. My son was now my main priority and I didn’t care that I wouldn’t have a proper ‘career’. There is lots of time for working when he’s at school. 

For those that think life stops when you have a baby, it doesn’t. My life is amazing and I wouldn’t change any of it. 

My aim in the future is get back into hairdressing when he’s at nursery/school and to go into mobile hairdressing. There is ways around things and just because I’m 24 and have a 2 year old, who works one day a week, it doesn’t make me a bad person- I try my hardest. 

My life isn’t over, it’s only just the beginning and I love how it’s turned out.

If someone told me at school that I would have a baby at the age of 22, I would never have believed them but everything happens for a reason and I’m proud of myself, my life and most importantly my son! 

4 thoughts on “What I thought my life would be like vs how it’s turned out 

  1. You should be proud of yourself, it isn’t easy being a Mummy! As you say, there are ways round things and going mobile sounds like it could be ideal for you. A little inspiration for you – my Mum had me at 19 and my brother 7 years later. During that time she was married and divorced twice but she still managed to be an auxiliary nurse, eventually getting a degree and qualifying as a nurse when I was in my early 20s. Took her time to do it, but she did – that’s the long way of me saying anything’s possible, I guess!

    Like

  2. Great post! Its funny how life doesn’t always turn out the way we planned, but sometimes its for the better. I never thought in a million years tht I would have a baby by the age of 21 for sure! #brilliantblogposts

    Like

  3. Lovely, honest post. I’m glad that you’re proud of yourself and your life. You sound like you have a sensible head on your shoulders. Thanks for linking up to the #BinkyLinky

    Like

Leave a Reply

